CelebrateExpress Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At CelebrateExpress
Shop TV & Movies or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand

Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand

Create some magic! Every wizard needs a magic wand. This one lights up, makes cool sounds, and is designed to go with kids’ Harry Potter costumes. Plastic; 14"L. Requires 2 AA batteries, not included. This item is an officially licensed Harry Potter product.
Average Rating:
3.224 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
13
33 of 58(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Review 1 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Small
Too Large
Too Large
Reviewed by: Yummymummy
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Title: 

Not happy

Date:August 18, 2011
"Wand was unrealistic looking - cheap plastic, misproportioned. Didn't go well with the other high quality Harry Potter products purchased on this site. :("
Review 2 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: eliza5994
Title: 

Great toy

Date:December 18, 2011
"My son loves this wand! It's fun, works great and the light and sound effects add to his play making it that much better!"
Review 3 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Small
Too Large
Too Large
Reviewed by: Jmarie219
Title: 

Piece of junk

Date:November 7, 2013
"Stopped working after 2 days of light use. Waste of money"
Review 4 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: beezerpup
Title: 

Fine for a costume prop

Date:October 24, 2012
"Not for playing with! There is no on/off switch so the sounds go off with any movement(kind of annoying) but to use for a costume it will be fine for a few hours. The plastic doesn't hold up to being used in a "swordfight" (not the intended use) but for the price it is perfect for your wizard to hold while trick or treating"
Review 5 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: potterfan2
Title: 

Cute but plastic

Date:October 3, 2012
"Battery operated but the plastic cover over the batteries is so flimsy I thought it would break when I screwed it back on. The sounds are fun and the wand is not too long. Wish it has an on off switch. Kids love it."
Review 6 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: seerule62
Location: Oregon
Title: 

Son loves it....

Date:September 17, 2012
"A bit annoying for parents, but we have simply said it is an outside toy and he can play with it all he likes outside..... so I don't have to listen to the constant noises. Too bad it doesn't have an off switch or the battery were easier to take out. Still, I'm glad I got it... it is worth it for his reaction. So jealous of his sisters pretty fairy wands and princess wands, now he has a cool wand of his own."
Review 7 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: gruvcreative
Title: 

Excellent HP Fun

Date:March 26, 2012
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My birthday boy wanted a Harry Potter costume, so we got the wand, the glasses and the cloak for him. He loves them! The only reason I gave the wand a 3 Star Overall Rating is because it really needs an On/Off switch."
Review 8 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: Suesie
Location: North Carolina
Title: 

Wont turn off!

Date:November 11, 2011
"This wand would be a great one if it had an OFF switch! Once you put the batteries in, its starts to make noise any time you move or wave it. If you want to turn it off you have to have a mini screwdriver with you and open it up and take the battery out. I think a long stick would have worked with the costume just as well."
Review 9 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: Mac5
Location: WI
Title: 

Fun, but......

Date:October 30, 2011
"This wand is very fun. My daughter used it while trick or treating. It is motion activated, lights up, and makes sound when you shake it. The only thing that would make this wand better would be an OFF switch! It lights up and makes noise in the car, even when you aren't shaking it. The only way to turn it off is to take out the batteries. But, when it's sitting still, it's no bother."
Review 10 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: HP72
Location: Ohio
Title: 

Fun wand

Date:October 21, 2011
"It's plastic and easy to place batteries. The light is good. It would be nice if there was a switch to leave the light on or off, but there isn't. It's all motion activated. Nice HP memory"
Review 11 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too Small
Too Large
Too Large
Reviewed by: mom2eande
Title: 

Really LOUD

Date:October 12, 2011
"My 6 and 8 year old sons love this and both have one. Now for how I feel about it. It is big and cheap looking. This is VERY loud and can't be turned off without removing the batteries, which requires a screw driver. Battery door flops on one end and doesn't stay closed. I wish I would have just saved the money and used a stick from the back yard instead of getting this, which actually would have made them just as happy!"
Review 12 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: TexasBound
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Title: 

Fun wand, but not the best quality

Date:September 28, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had this same wand last year for Halloween. I let my son play with it about a week before Halloween and it broke within that week (and not with very rough play). So I am disappointed with the quality of the wand. The plastic is cheaply made. It was a lot of fun while is lasted though, the sounds it makes are fun for the kids and it lights up which will be nice for Halloween. I purchased this again for this year in hopes that it will hold up better because it is a really fun wand."
Review 13 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: Zathras
Title: 

OK Harry Potter Wand

Date:September 20, 2011
"Its very sensitive, the slightest movement triggers the zapping sound. It needs an on/off switch.
It would also be better if the light bulb were brighter. Fun for the kids to go around zapping things with spells.
"
Review 14 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too Small
Too Large
Too Large
Reviewed by: librarybee
Location: Toledo, OH
Title: 

didn't work

Date:September 9, 2011
"We purchased two. One worked and the other didn't - and, it's not worth the postage to return. Very disappointing to my kids. Even on the one that worked, the sounds are more like Star Wars than Harry Potter. The light is not strong enough to provide any safety for trick or treating. Just not worth it."
Review 15 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun Factor: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too Small
True to Size
Too Large
Reviewed by: LA2011
Title: 

Great Buy!

Date:September 7, 2011
"Okay, this completed the outfit. My son is making sure he has his motion activated (there is no off switch, so if you want it quiet, hide it!) whenever he watches Harry Potter Movies. It really is fun to watch him dress up as Harry Potter, now hopefully it will last until Halloween!"
Review 16 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewed by: junky
Title: 

big disappointment

Date:November 18, 2010
"the wand does not have an on/ off switch. My son put the batteries in and he played with it for one hour and it broke. I emailed the company and they are sending him a new one. I hope this new one lasts longer than the first."
Review 17 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reviewed by: 3texsons
Title: 

.....Not Very "Durable"

Date:November 7, 2010
"My 3 sons were SO excited to get their wands! BUT they did not stand up to one drop on the ground. The drops were not even hard ones....just on the carpet. They do still play with their wands but there is no sound. I should of paid less and got plain ones :("
Review 18 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: freckledgurghi
Location: Tennessee
Title: 

It was ok

Date:November 3, 2010
"The wands were cool until you put the batteries in them and then there wasn't a way to turn them off or down and the slightest bump had them going."
Review 19 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed by: BriP
Title: 

Cool

Date:November 1, 2010
"This was a pretty cool little wand. But when it says motion activated it means the slightest movement will activate the noise."
Review 20 for Harry Potter Motion-Activated Light & Sound Wand
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewed by: Makers
Title: 

A good replica

Date:October 29, 2010
"This is a good replica, but it doesn't turn off and you have to unscrew the back to take out the batteries. It can get very annoying after a while."
1 2 3 next>>